Sue Burrell – On Juvenile Justice Reform Panel

May 24, 2011

The Children’s Law Center, Inc. is pleased to offer an audio webcast on: Trends and Challenges in Juvenile Justice Reform: Experiences of Three States

MODERATOR:

Dana Shoenberg, Deputy Director, Center for Children’s Law and Policy

PANEL:

Abby Anderson, Executive Director, Connecticut Juvenile Justice Alliance Sue Burrell, Staff Attorney, Youth Law Center Ana Yáñez-Correa, PhD, Executive Director, Texas Criminal Justice Coalition

DESCRIPTION:

During the past decade, Connecticut, Texas, and California have engaged in major juvenile justice reforms resulting in a substantial reduction of youth held in long-term juvenile and adult facilities, implementation of broad community-based reforms, and mobilization of the public around the need for such efforts. This webcast will explore the conditions and factors that contributed to reforms in these states. Presenters will share their lessons learned and the strategies used to facilitate reforms, such as the use of community and legislative advocacy, impact litigation, public education, and engagement of, and collaboration among, juvenile system professionals. There will also be a discussion about the successes, challenges, and unintended consequences of the reforms. This webcast is intended for juvenile justice stakeholders seeking to initiate or participate in reform efforts in their communities and those interested in learning about the current trends and challenges in juvenile justice reform.

WHEN:

June 3, 2011 12:30 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Eastern ~ 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Central 10:30 a.m. to Noon Mountain ~9:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Pacific

REGISTRATION:

The webcast is free and open to the public. However, space is limited and registration is required. To register go to webcast registration and follow the instructions. Participants will need a computer that has audio capabilities and is connected to the Internet. If you have any questions, email Lauren Litton at lllitton@ispconsults.com or contact Children’s Law Center at (859) 431-3313. Feel free to distribute this information.